History of Hanover

Hanover is the capital of Lower-Saxony. It’s population is at around 500,000 people.

Here a short overview about the history of the city:
1163 Hannover is mentioned for the 1st time in a document.
1533 After a referendum, the reformation is introduced in Hanover and the city becomes Lutheran-Protestant
1636 Hanover becomes the royal seat of the Welfen.
1676 On request of Duke Johann Friedrich, Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz comes to Hanover to work as a librarian. 1678 he became “Hofrat”
1704 Leibniz writes: honovere, this means high bank.
1714 Personal union between England and Hanover under King Georg I.
1716 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz dies in Hanover.
1803 Hannover is occupied by the army of Napoleon I.
1814 During the congress of Vienna, the electorate of Hanover becomes a kingdom.
1837 End of the Personal union – King Ernst August lives in Hanover.
1866 Prussia annexes the Kingdom of Hanover
1918 Emperor Wilhelm II. resigns. In Hanover, a committee of worker and soldier is formed.
1933 The Nazis rise to power
1938 The synagogue in the Calenberger Neustadt is burnt to the ground.
1943 Bomb attacks destroy 80% of the city
1946 On the 1st of November the federal state Lower Saxony is established. The capital is Hanover.
1947 The first industry fair takes place in Hanover.
1949 Reconstruction of the city
2000 The World exhibition EXPO 2000 takes place in Hanover.
2005 The Metropolregion Hannover-Braunschweig-Göttingen is established, Wolfsburg joins in 2008

The Leibniz University of Hanover


On 2nd of Mai 1831 the “Höhere Gewerbschule zu Hannover” is established. At that time, there were only 64 scholars and the courses took place at the home of Christian Wilhelm Bornemann. The director of the school was Karl Karmarsch.The university doesn’t move into it’s current main building, the Welfenschloss, until 1879.

Since 2006, the Leibniz Universität Hannover is a members of the TU9 (German Institutes of Technology e.V.), which is a cooperation of the nine most prestigious technical universities of Germany. In the same year the university changed its name to its current form: Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Universität Hannover.
Today there around 23.000 students, in more than 75 different field of study, which are divided into 9 faculties.